Trustees Trustees Trustees


Sailors' Society's Trustees provide governance and oversight to the Christian maritime charity. They lend support and advice to the Chief Executive, who is responsible for executing the mission and vision of the Society. They are also legally responsible for ensuring compliance with the expectations of the Charity Commission.

Our Trustees voluntarily contribute their time and come from a variety of professional backgrounds, including business and banking, legal and accountancy. Some bring experience of seafaring and together they offer a diverse range of skills.

The Trustees regularly review and comment on plans and performance, review any major issues bearing on the well-being of the organisation and its endeavours and decide important new strategic directions.

It is the Trustees’ responsibility to formally approve our budget, annual report and accounts and report to the Charity Commission on annual achievements of the charity and delivery of public benefit to the community we set out to serve.

Our Chairman is Alastair Fischbacher and our Vice Chairmen are Michael Drayton and Dr Peter Swift, the charity's governance advisor is John Harte. Full information on our Trustees is available below.

A copy of Sailors' Society's annual accounts can be found here.

We are currently looking for three new Trustees to join our dedicated team, click here for more information.

Alastair Fischbacher was appointed Sailors’ Society’s Chairman in 2014, having previously been the CEO of The Sustainable Shipping Initiative and previously General Manager at Rio Tinto Marine. He has also been the Chair of RightShip and of the World Ocean Council. A background at sea and ashore in the UK and abroad, he has strong industry knowledge and board experience in the business and charity sectors.

Peter Swift’s career includes senior management, commercial and technical roles in the maritime and other international industries, which followed research and lecturing positions in engineering, marine transportation and economics. Having worked extensively in all five continents, his charity involvement today spans, among others: seafarer welfare, piracy and crisis response, maritime knowledge awareness, and the promotion of quality in ships and their management.

Following a 35-year career in ship-broking, Michael Drayton has been a Trustee since 2012. He was a Director of Galbraith’s Ltd from 1985 and of their Hong Kong office from 1978. He was elected Chairman of the Baltic Exchange from 2007-9 and was also Chairman of Arlington Tankers Ltd. in New York from 2004.

Peter Goldberg served at sea with Port Line, Shell and British Rail Ferries, he left in 1966 as Chief Officer with Masters Certificate. He founded a computer bureau, which he sold in 1979. Peter founded a garden products business, which he sold in 2009 to retire. He became a Trustee of Sailors’ Society in 2004 and currently chairs the development committee.

Jon Holloway is Managing Director at L&R Midland (UK) Ltd. He was an Engineer Cadet with BP Shipping, sailing with BP up to the rank of Chief Engineer. Jon came ashore in 2001 and has worked in various shipping roles for BP Shipping, INTERTANKO and BG Group before taking on his current position. He has been an Ambassador for Sailors’ Society since 2007 and became a Trustee in 2014.

Colin McMurray FIMarEST MIoD’s 10 years as a Deck Officer started with a BP Shipping Cadetship before moving ashore to join the Clyde Group in 2004. He was later appointed Managing Director of Clyde Marine Training, starting several successful companies. Colin's a respected figure in the maritime sector sitting on various boards including City of Glasgow College and Merchant Navy Training Board.

Shyam K Sharma JP M.Sc. FCA joined Sailors’ Society in 2007 and is a practising Chartered Accountant. He is the Honorary Treasurer of the Magistrates Association and a Justice of the Peace. His previous experience includes being a Non-Executive Director and Chairman of an NHS Trust, Court Board Director, General Commissioner of Income Tax, Trustee of Small Charities. He’s also a lifetime member of the Millennium Awards Fellowship.


Captain Stoneley has spent more than 35 years in the marine industry, initially at sea where he was in command of large merchant vessels. Thereafter he spent over 20 years working for large global trading houses as technical lead and global operations manager looking after fleets of up to 450 vessels. Captain Stoneley is Fellow of The Nautical Institute, a Younger Brother of Trinity House and a director of Sailors' Society.